Everdo Data Sync Options

Sync keeps data up to date all your devices. Everdo gives your several options for syncing data depending on your preference.

Network Sync

The default option is Network Sync. In this scheme, Everdo app running on one of your desktop computers is acting as a server. The server is responsible for keeping the latest database state and receiving changes from other devices. Apps on other devices are clients, who periodically push their changes to the server and get updates back. This Network Sync Guide shows what's involved in configuring Network Sync.

Pros

  • Internet connection is not required
  • Always free and autonomous

Cons

  • Clients must be on the same local network as the server
  • Clients can only sync with one dedicated device, but not directly with each other
  • Some configuration is required
  • Some networks may forbid communication between devices

Encrypted Sync Service (coming soon)

The Encrypted Sync Service is designed to overcome the limitations of Network Sync outlined above. At the same time it enables complete privacy and security of your data by using strong encryption. Everdo encrypts data before it leaves your device, with a key you specify. That key is only known to you - stored on your computer. The Sync Service works with encrypted data, so the data is not readable by anyone but you.

Pros

  • No configuration
  • Can sync over the Internet with complete privacy
  • Can go back to Network Sync any time

Cons

  • It's a paid service
  • It's not openly available yet

Manual Data Import/Export

One more option to move data between devices is via file-based export and import. For example: export the data at ComputerA, move the export file to ComputerB, then import. This can work when you only need to sync occasionally, but don't have your computers in the same network.

Pros

  • No configuration
  • Can sync over the Internet
  • Free

Cons

  • Manual process
  • It's only as secure as your means of file transfer
  • If the same items have been edited on both computers, then conflicting changes may be overwritten